Skip Navigation
Print Share

National Philanthropy Day Awards


Logo: Change the World with a Giving Heart

The Association of Fundraising Professionals West Florida Chapter proudly announces the nominees for the 2017 National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon

Several individuals and organizations were nominated for their philanthropic community efforts including The Ambersley Foundation; Audi Pensacola; Baptist Health Care; Terry Berling; Randy Bricker; Carol Carlan; Madrina Ciano; CrossFaith Church; Escambia County Council of PTA/PTSAs; Junior League of Pensacola; Levin Rinke Realty; David Lorenzo; Harold Marcus, Jr.; David Peaden, II; Pen Air Federal Credit Union; Michelle Salzman; Sunday's Child; and Todd Torgersen.

All nominees will be recognized and winners announced during the annual luncheon at 11:30 a.m. Thursday, Nov. 16 at the Pensacola Grand Hotel, 200 E. Gregory St. Reservations are now open at

Tickets for the luncheon are $35 for AFP members and $45 for non-members until Nov. 13. Walk-ins will be available on a first-come, first-served basis for $50 per person.  Sponsorship opportunities and tables are available for the luncheon, which is designed to celebrate and highlight the accomplishments of giving, volunteering and charitable engagement within our community.

For more information, please contact Sally McConnell at 570-4320.

Admission is free for the educational workshop featuring Aaron Ball, President and CEO of Ballpoint Communications Group. The event will take place prior to the awards luncheon from 8:30 to 11 a.m. at Gulf Power Company, One Energy Place.

About the National Philanthropy Day Awards Luncheon

Each year, we host a special event to honor individuals and organizations that have made lasting and significant contributions to the community through their philanthropic efforts. Nominations have been accepted in the following categories: Outstanding Philanthropist; Outstanding Philanthropic Foundation, Organization or Corporation; Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser; and Outstanding Fundraising Professional.

What makes philanthropy so special is that no one is required to give of themselves. There are no national laws or regulations which mandate that you must volunteer or get involved. Philanthropy is so powerful and inspiring precisely because it is voluntary—that through the goodness of our hearts, through our need to connect, through our desire to see a better world, we come together to improve the quality of life for all people.

For more information contact National Philanthropy Day Co - Chair, Maegan Leonard, at








Thank you to our 2017 National Philanthropy Day Sponsors:

 small gp logo





2016 National Philanthopy Day Awards

Recipients recognized during annual awards luncheon

The Association of Fundraising Professionals West Florida Chapter announced the winners of the 2016 National Philanthropy Day during its annual awards luncheon held today at the Pensacola Grand Hotel.

  • Laverne Baker was named Outstanding Fundraising Professional, an award designed for an outstanding individual fundraising professional who practices his or her profession in an exemplary manner.
  • Sue Straughn was named Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser, presented to an individual with a proven track record of ongoing, significant commitment to fundraising for one or more organizations. 
  • Washington High School Student Government Association was named Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy, which recognizes services by individuals 10 to 20 years old who have demonstrated outstanding results to one or more organizations through their commitment to time, talent and demonstration of leadership in philanthropy.
  • Cat Country 98.7 was named Philanthropic Business of the Year, an award that recognizes a business for its philanthropic impact in the community through direct and indirect support of charitable projects. 
  • Epps Christian Center was named Philanthropic Faith-Based Organization of the Year for an organization that gives of itself to motivate and support its members’ service-related efforts.
  • Tip McAlpin was named Philanthropist of the Year, which recognizes an individual or family for exceptional generosity and civic responsibility demonstrated by significant financial contributions to charitable organizations in the community.  
  • Seville Rotary Club of Pensacola was named Philanthropic Service Organization of the Year, recognizing a community-based organization whose grant programs, donations and charitable activities significantly enrich the community.